Desert Horses

Welcome to my horse blog, Desert Horses. We live in the desert southwest, near Palm Springs, CA, but board our horses up in our local mountains where it is cooler in the summer. I have 4 horses, all rescues. Here is the ranch up the mountains where the horses stay.

Wednesday, December 23, 2020

Got a LOT of work to do!

 An Edison crew showed up 60 days ago and said they wanted to completely remove 6 trees from our property which were under their lines.   So, we said yes.   One was a 40 year old DEAD pine tree which I planted the year after our daughter was born.   The doves loved that tree, but they can find other ones.   There were 3 eucalyptus, the dead pine, and 1 Chinaberry (which actually wasn't under their lines), but they took them all out completely.   The good thing is that it has now opened up about 1/3 of our yard to direct sunlight and I now have a huge area to plant flower seeds!   So, I placed a $40 order for black eyed Susans, California poppies, African daisies, lupine, larkspur, and I forget what else.   In the meantime I'm busy planting hollyhocks and sunflowers all along the block wall next to our neighbor.   By Spring, it will completely be covered with sunflowers and hollyhocks!   and, I have plenty of room for everything else.   So, I go out every day for about an hour and putter around.   I'm getting exercise and Vitamin D, so that's good.

We DID see the alignment of Jupiter and Saturn on the 21st, so that was good.   Last night it was too cloudy to see anything and they weren't lined up anyway.

Not much else new here.   I have at least 3 hummingbirds who have stayed in the yard.   Oh, and the neighborhood roadrunner comes every day and eats grubs and an occasional sparrow or finch..sigh... She can sure hunker down when the Cooper's hawk flies through the yard!

So far we are still healthy.   I only go out to the store once a week and I ONLY go out first thing in the morning.   NEVER in the afternoon...and I ALWAYS wear a mask, take hand sanitizer, and I scrub my hands when I get home.   We don't go anywhere else, except to our daughter's home and they are both very careful.  I do babysit the 7 year old for 2 weeks every month.   Now I just basically see that she is on task.   Those little fingers sure can move quickly on the iPad!   And, in the afternoon she has small groups on Zoom, so I have to make sure she's ready for that.   Then, I drive home and take a 2 hour nap.

Stay safe and STAY WELL!